Congratulations! Dr. Ruzycki!

The 2022 RPB Career Development Award Recipient Philip Ruzycki, PhD has been granted the prestigious Research to Prevent Blindness (RPB) Career Development Award to support eye research. The RPB Career Development Award was established in 1960 and is given to support the independent pursuits of promising early career scientists or clinician scientists in their research […]

2022 Cogan Award Recipient!

Congratulations to Dr. Daniel Kerschensteiner, who has received the Cogan Award of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO). The annual award recognizes a researcher age 45 or younger who has made important research contributions in ophthalmology and visual science that are directly related to disorders of the human eye or visual system, […]

Congratulations! Dr. Kerschensteiner

Bernard Becker Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences Daniel Kerschensteiner, MD has been appointed the new Bernard Becker Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences. This scholarship is in acknowledgement for the outstanding leadership he has brought to our department as well as to the fields of neuroscience and the visual sciences

Congratulations! Dr. Chen

Dr. Bernard and Janet R. Becker Distinguished Professor in Ophthalmology Shiming Chen, PhD has been awarded the Dr. Bernard and Janet R. Becker Endowment for Distinguished Professor in Ophthalmology. This endowment, is in acknowledgement for her outstanding work in the field of Ophthalmology, especially in the area of the Molecular Basis of Retinal Gene Expression.

Congratulations! Dr. Bassnett

Grace Nelson Lacy Distinguished Professorship Steven Bassnett, PhD has been appointed the Inaugural Grace Nelson Lacy Distinguished Professor in Ophthalmology. This Scholarship is in acknowledgement of the outstanding work that Dr. Bassnett has contributed to the field of Ophthalmology, and most recently in the field of glaucoma over the past 30 years. This endowment was […]

Congratulations! Andrea Santeford

Andrea Santeford, MS, Research Laboratory Supervisor in the Dr. Apte’s Lab, has led the effort on a paper published in eLife on August 23, 2021. The paper is supported by an NIH grant awarded to the Apte Lab. Age-related inflammation, also known as inflammaging, is a leading driver of multiple aging-related diseases. Andrea Santeford and […]

Congratulations! Joseph Lin

Joseph Lin, MSTP MD/PhD student in Dr. Apte’s Lab has been awarded a F30 grant for his project entitled “Role of Stearoyl-CoA Desaturase 2 in Macrophage-mediated Antimicrobal Immunity”

Research to Prevent Blindness (RPB) Stein Innovation Award!

Congratulations to Dr. Shiming Chen, who has been awarded a prestigious RPB Stein Innovation Award from the Research to Prevent Blindness. This award provides flexible funding to scientists actively engaged in research with the goal of understanding the visual system and the diseases that compromise its function, with a focus on new technologies and cutting-edge […]

Now Hiring: Research Faculty

The Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at Washington University seeks an innovative and motivated individual to join our Research Faculty Full-time tenure-track academic appointment (Assistant Professor) This position will focus on research with minimal teaching or administrative obligations The qualified applicant will demonstrate: An outstanding record of research accomplishments Exciting future basic and/or translational […]

Congratulations Dr. Ryo Terao

Ryo Terao, MD, PhD, post doc in Dr. Apte’s lab, has been selected as the 2021 International Retinal Research Foundation Alston Callahan, MD Postdoctoral Scholar for his project, “Dysregulated Lipid Metabolism and Senescence in Age-Related Macular Degeneration.” This prestigious award honors one of the International Retinal Research Foundation (IRRF) founders.