Ophthalmology Awards

Given to Fellows, Residents and Medical Students

Pepose Award

For research in vision and ophthalmology (ARVO) research award. Scientific integrity and clinical significance of his/her current research activity as summarized in an accepted ARVO abstract.

The Doctor William Ellis Research Prize in Ophthalmology

Superior achievements in ophthalmological and visual sciences research – 4th year medical student (may be given to a resident).

The Max & Evelyn Grand Prize

Endowed in 1985 by Dr. Gil Grand in honor of his parents. The award is presented annually to a fourth year medical student who demonstrates excellence in ophthalmological research or clinical care Excellence in ophthalmological clinical care by a fourth year medical student.

The Rosenbaum Research Award

Awarded to the resident in ophthalmology for the best research in ophthalmology.

Drs. James and Linda Duan-Song Award for Clinical/Surgical Excellence

Established in 2011 to recognize a resident demonstrating outstanding clinical and surgical skills. The award is determined by a vote of the entire faculty and the recipient must be nominated in both the best clinical and best surgical categories and receive the most overall votes. 

Katie and Howard Venable Award

Awarded to a resident who has demonstrated high academic achievement, excellence in the field, and leadership potential, and who also has experience with or commitment to servicing or working with historically underserved or underprivileged populations or who has experience confronting challenging social, economic, educational cultural or other life circumstances.

The Doris P. and Harry I. Wexler Prize

Awarded to resident or residents recognizing outstanding research in eye disease.

Mat Guirgis Pediatric Ophthalmology & Strabismus Award

Mat Guirgis was the pediatric fellow in 2001-2002. He was a hard working and dedicated physician. Upon graduation he went into private practice in Wisconsin. In 2007 he succumbed to renal cell carcinoma. In honor of his memory Dr. Larry Tychsen has endowed the Mat Guirgis Award in Pediatric Ophthalmology. It is determined by a vote of the entire pediatric ophthalmology faculty and staff to go to the resident who, like Mat, worked harder than he was asked to and put his patients above all else.