This multidisciplinary course is organized by the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences to provide a thorough introduction to the biology of major ocular compartments and their associated pathologies. The course provides a fascinating view of vertebrate eye development, anatomy, physiology and pathology.  Topics covered include: cornea, lens, vitreous, retinal development, visual processing, and pathologies, as well as central visual pathways. The course is open to graduate students and will be of particular interest to developmental and cell biologists, neuroscientists, geneticists, bioengineers, and clinician-scientists.  Postdoctoral fellows, Faculty, Residents and Technicians with an interest in the visual sciences are strongly encouraged to attend.

This course will be held on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 5.15pm – 6.30pm (Apart from 9/26, 11/7 and 12/5 which will begin at 4pm)

Fall Semester 2019

Location:Maternity Building Conference room 725

Course master: Vladimir Kefalov

Access to course material

DateTopicInstructorEmail
9/3/2019Overview of the eye from an evolutionary perspectiveJoe CorboJcorbo@wustl.edu
 CORNEA    
9/5/2019Cornea I: Structure, physiology, transparencyAndrew  Huang huangandrew@wustl.edu
9/10/2019Cornea II: Stem cells and corneal  renewalAndrew Huang 
 ANTERIOR  SEGMENT  
9/12/2019Structure and function: Aqueous humor inflow and outflowCarla Siegfriedsiegfried@wustl.edu
 LENS  
9/17/2019Lens: structure, cell biology. refractive errors and agingSteven  BassnettBassnett@wustl.edu
9/19/2019Genetics of cataract- age related cataractsAlan ShielsShiels@wustl.edu
9/24/2019Chaperone proteins in the eyeUsha AndleyAndley@wustl.edu
 VITREOUS  
9/26/2019Structure and function of the vitreous bodyNathan Raviravi@wustl.edu
 RETINA: DEVELOPMENT  
10/1/2019Cell biology of retinal developmentBrian Clarkbrian.s.clark@wustl.ed
10/3/2019Genetic control of retinal developmentShiming ChenChenshiming@wustl.edu
10/8/2019Neurobiology  of retinal developmentDaniel Kerschensteinerkerschensteinerd@wustl.edu
10/10/2019Genomic, proteomic, and transcriptomic analysisPhilip Ruzyckip.ruzycki@wustl.edu
 RETINA& VISUAL PROCESSING  
10/15/2019Retina I:  Structure and  functionPeter Lukasiewiczlukasiewicz@wustl.edu
10/17/2019Retina II: Neurobiology of visual processingPhil Williamsprwillia@wustl.edu
10/22/2019Neuroscience meeting (No class)———————-
10/24/2019Circadian rhythms and the visual systemErik Herzogherzog@wustl.edu
10/29/2019Photoreceptors and visual adaptationVladimir Kefalovkefalov@wustl.edu
10/31/2019Photoreceptors and signal transductionVladimir Kefalovkefalov@wustl.edu
 RETINAL PATHOLOGIES  
11/5/2019Immune privilegeThomas Fergusonferguson@wustl.edu
11/7/2019VasculopathiesRithwick Rajagopalrajagopalr@wustl.edu
11/12/2019Inherited retinal diseasesRajendra Apteapte@wustl.edu
11/19/2019Development, physiology and PathophysiologyAndrew Leearlee@wustl.edu
 CENTRAL VISUAL PATHWAYS  
11/21/2019Central Visual Pathways – part IJosh Morganjlmorgan@wustl.edu
11/26/2019Thanksgiving (No class)  
12/3/2019Central Visual Pathways – part IIAndreas Burkhalterburkhala@wustl.edu
12/5/2019Glaucoma and Ganglion cell NeuropathiesBanks Shepherdshepherd@wustl.edu
12/10/2019Central Visual Pathways – pathologyGreg Van Stavernvanstaverng@wustl.edu