DOVS News Fellows in the news Residents in the news

2017 Ophthalmology Awards

Congratulations to our award recipients!

The Doctor William Ellis Research Prize in Ophthalmology.  Superior achievements in ophthalmological and visual sciences research.
Jennifer Enright, MD

The Max & Evelyn Grand Prize was endowed in 1985 by Dr. Gil Grand in honor of his parents. The award is presented annually to a fourth year medical student who demonstrates excellence in ophthalmological research or clinical care  Excellence in ophthalmological clinical care by a fourth year medical student.
Jennifer Enright, MD

Mat Guirgis Pediatric Ophthalmology & 
Strabismus Award Mat Guirgis was the pediatric fellow in 2001-2002. He was a hard working and dedicated physician. Upon graduation he went into private practice in Wisconsin. In 2007 he succumbed to renal cell carcinoma. In honor of his memory Dr. Larry Tychsen has endowed the Mat Guirgis Award in Pediatric Ophthalmology. It is determined by a vote of the entire pediatric ophthalmology faculty and staff to go to the resident who, like Mat, worked harder than he was asked to and put his patients above all else.  Thomas Shute

Drs. James and Linda Duan-Song Award for Clinical/Surgical Excellence  was established in 2011 to recognize a resident demonstrating outstanding clinical and surgical skills. The award is determined by a vote of the entire faculty and the recipient must be nominated in both the best clinical and best surgical categories and receive the most overall votes. 
Wesley Green, MD

The Rosenbaum Research Award.  Resident in ophthalmology for the best research in ophthalmology.
Cynthia Montana, MD, PhD 

Clinical Excellence Award 2017
Cynthia Montan, MD, PhD