2022 Graduation Awards

Congratulations to all of our awards recipients!

Award Recipients


Academic Teacher of the Year

Andrew Lee, MD

Assistant Professor, Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences; Director of Medical Student Education

Clinical Teacher of the Year

Priya Shetty, MD

Instructor in Clinical Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

Research Teacher of the Year

Rajendra Apte, MD, PhD

Paul A. Cibis Distinguished Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences; Vice Chair for Innovation and Translation

Award Recipients


Kishan Patel, MD

Retina Fellow

“Golden Apple” Award:

Is selected by the residents to recognize the fellow teacher who has been the most committed to resident education.


Matthew Santos, MD

2023 Chief of Ophthalmic Trauma

Ron Burde “Good Egg” Award:

This award was established in 2006 to recognize the attributes that exemplify Dr. Ron Burde’s tenure at WashU DOVS: These attributes include: excellence in teaching, mentoring and resident support. The recipient is selected by his or her resident colleagues.

Dr. James Song and Linda Duan-Song Award for Clinical and Surgical Excellence:

This award was established in 2011 to recognize a resident demonstrating outstanding clinical and surgical skills

Doris P. and Harry J. Wexler Research Award:

This award was established by Mrs. Doris Wexler’s estate to endow a prize recognizing outstanding research by a student or resident.

Thiago Moulin, MD

First Year Resident

Mat Guirgis Award:

Mat Guirgis was the pediatric fellow in 2001-2002. He was a hard-working and dedicated physician. Upon graduation he went into private practice in Wisconsin. In 2007 he succumbed to renal cell carcinoma. In honor of his memory Dr. Larry Tychsen has endowed the Mat Guirgis Award in Pediatric Ophthalmology. It is determined by a vote of the entire pediatric ophthalmology faculty and staff to go to the resident who, like Mat, worked harder than he was asked to and put his patients above all else.

Yi-Hsien Yeh, MD

First Year Resident

The Morton E. Smith Excellence in Medical Student Education Award

Established in 2016, this award recognizes the resident who possesses the same passion for medical student teaching as Dr. Smith. It represents knowledge, growth, and lineage. The recipient is voted on by medical students who spend time in the ophthalmology department.

Nathaniel Blecher, MD

Second Year Resident

PGY3 Clinical Service Award

This award is presented to the 2nd year resident (PGY3) that displays a high level of professionalism while working with our ophthalmic technicians at COH.

Nicole Varnado, MD, PhD

Second Year Resident

Rosenbaum Research Award

Was endowed by Dr. Harry Rosenbaum’s family in 1981 to recognize the resident doing the most exciting research in ophthalmology during the academic year.

Award Recipients

Medical Students

Arjav Shah, MD, MPHS

The Max & Evelyn Grand Prize:

This Award Was endowed in 1985 by Dr. Gil Grand in honor of his parents. This award is presented annually to a fourth year medical student who demonstrates excellence in ophthalmological research or clinical care.

Matthew Hunt, MD

The Doctor William Ellis Research Prize in Ophthalmology

This Award Was established in 1990 by Dr. William Ellis, an alumnus of Washington University, to recognize superior achievements in ophthalmological and visual sciences research by a fourth year medical student.

Award Recipients

Volunteer Faculty Recognition

Sean M. Breit, MD

Mark A. Rothstein, MD

Steven M. Shields, MD

15 Years

35 Years

40 Years